ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ Herman's blog

On being a great gift-giver

Some people are great at giving gifts. The kinds of gifts that squeeze your heart make you feel seen. I'm trying to become one of those people, but my friend Simon already is.

If you're reading this you're probably aware that I run a blogging platform that I care for deeply. And it's the main thing I speak about when someone asks after my day. I rattle on about a challenging bug I'm trying to squash, complain about cheeky script-kiddies rattling the latches on all the doors and windows looking for an exploit, or mention an email I received from a blogger letting me know they see the love and effort I put into my work.

Simon hears all of this, and on my 32nd birthday gave me a gift that really hit home.

I keep a mostly-up-to-date list of nice messages about Bear that I've received from users over the past few years. It helps me remember why I do what I do, and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy whenever I need some extra motivation.

Knowing this, Simon conspired with a friend who owns a 3D printer and designed and created a little desktop bear that can hold a message board. He then wrote each of these messages out by hand (suffering only minor carpel tunnel) on sticky notes which the bear now carries like a human bear directional.

bear-gift

It now sits on my desk, next to my computer where I get to see it every work day, right when and where I need a shot of good vibes.

These are the kinds of gifts I want to learn how to give. Ones that make the receiver feel like they've been listened to and understood. That don't cost much money but are priceless at the same time.

I'm grateful and inspired. Thanks Simon (I know you're subscribed to my blog). And thanks to everyone who has sent me a kind email over the past few years. I appreciate you all.

Enjoyed the article? I write about 1-2 a month. Subscribe via email or RSS feed.